Letters

there were these letters
each bigger than I
filling my structure
capital tease crossing my eyes

they pushed their way
bending corners into my shape
building surfeit pressure
until they found their escape

with an opening of mind
and the drop of my jaw
like a paperdoll chain
letters became words in fall

my soul poured out
there to the white blank stage
forming a built utterance
turning me to the next page

there were these letters…

Contributed to Open Link Night with dVerse Poets Pub

8 thoughts on “Letters”

  1. I’m always waiting for your next piece. This is lovely. I love the ambiguity. The piece is fabulously construct and reveals the talent of a fine poet. Really love the last stanza my friend.

  2. Wonderfully intense description of that pressure to write–it has to build slowly and force its way out sometimes, but eventually the paper doll chain is there. Loved it, Rose.

Leave a Reply

