Elan Vital

I put my thoughts
in tears and let them
fall to my heart

I can feel the power
of the world slowing
before its timed restart

I was given the pen
of angels and told to
transcribe their verse

I never knew the meaning
until I stepped beyond
the diagram I made of words

Read in the middle of
tran-sentence I found
the period of hollow

Where my split thought mind
was carved empty and my
soul began to bellow

I heard a song that was
knew and followed each
chord that rang aloud

Letting my prints reshape
the storied layers of my
long authored shroud

There, in this forward
I backspaced over all
I thought was be

Meet me here and
I will take you to
parts two and three

Elan Vital: life force – The creative force within an organism that is responsible for growth, change and necessary or desirable adaptations.

Contributed to Open Link Night with dVerse Poets Pub. Please link up and show your support for this great group of people, you are sure to receive it back in kind.

8 thoughts on “Elan Vital”

  1. I never knew the meaning
    until I stepped beyond
    the diagram I made of words…nice, great stanza…and love your word play…backspaced over all i knew to be…you come out the blocks well, i really like the opening stanza too rose…

  2. this is very cool. So many really neat lines here, and the title is both fitting and a truly fun choice. Great reading as well. was given the pen
    of angels and told to
    transcribe their verse- love this stanza. Thanks

Leave a Reply

