Aspirant

I walked a chisel among statues
cutting off heads so new could
be formed

I ran my feet into the earth
until the words of yesterday began
to birl

There I saw the fear of change
turn into the truth of choice
and was taught the argot of
observation by those that have
journeyed the spiral before

A whisper in the wind captured
my attention for the nonce and
played the song of my aspirant
heart

I was shown the equality of all
people striving for all things and
was told in the mixture of them
the verity of peace rings

A final echo of this concord
was left in my eyes

A picture of our tribe that I could
carve into the clouds and share
with your sky

Contributed to Open Link Night with dVerse Poets Pub. Please link up and show your support for this great group of people, you are sure to receive it back in kind.

10 thoughts on “Aspirant”

  1. i saw the fear of change turn into choice…ha…i like that…we can choose the change, thought change is inevitable even if we choose it not…those first two stanzas are really good…and hooked me rose…

  2. My favorite lines:
    “There I saw the fear of change
    turn into the truth of choice
    and was taught the argot of
    observation by those that have
    journeyed the spiral before”
    I enjoyed this !

  3. Beautiful write. It spirals with words lifting higher…: “I was shown the equality of all/ people striving for all things and/ was told in the mixture of them/ the verity of peace rings” and the last lines capture the essence: “A picture of our tribe that I could/ carve into the clouds and share/
    with your sky”. Lovely.

Leave a Reply

