Amaranthine

I unbuttoned time
exposing the bare truth,
watching its skin raise
with chills so that my
fingers could read the
braille history of all things.

I pressed through fleshy
tales into the center marrow
of truth and wiped it clean.

This my secret ageless,
where I began to feel
the physical reverse of
my spiritual forward
and my childlike began
to quietly sing

Not the songs of script
and meter told to be my
show and tell, but there
a song of freely versed
pleasures that started
to flow spontaneously.

I knew then this is how
the rest of my journey
would be written, by
playing hopscotch in
constellation tales and
making ribbon curls out
of sunshine beams.

Since then I became
ageless, sipping through
the silly straw of my
amaranthine.

Contributed to today’s Poetics over at dVerse Poets Pub hosted by the wonderfully talented poet and creative Stu McPherson.

My gratitude for this topic inspiration arriving in the time it has. The 14th with be the entrance into my 38th year in this journey. At 35 I rose from a sleep and announced I would die at 38. This poem is my since then story….I am grateful to now know exactly what I was telling myself. With love and thanks always for the support I have received in my journey from all encounters and moments. I am truly lucky to discover and die everyday. ~ Rose

15 thoughts on “Amaranthine”

  1. playing hopscotch in
    constellation tales and
    making ribbon curls out
    of sunshine beams….not a bad way to live life…still clinging to a bit of that childlike wonder….smiles….ageless….really like the beginning too…the stripping of memories…cool write ma’am

  2. there is so much here to get lost in. the opening was enchanting, the middle whimsical, and the end perfect. I admit I had to look up amaranthine, it fits just right.

    on a side note, I was 18 when I predicted 37; I have just under two years ’til I hit 38 and dispell that ominous idea. I have a feeling (or maybe a hope) that it will yield a life-altering as opposed to life-ending…

  3. There is real resolve in this. Pledging to never let life quash the spirit, and that it’s possible still to play hopscotch on the playground of life. I really like the drinking of Amaranthine….drinking something everlasting…. Strip away those bad memories and keep looking forward

  4. A wonderful read, love how you move through the uneasiness to find a new path… loved “playing hopscotch in constellation tales and making ribbons out of sunshine beams” a new inspiring light. Nice 🙂

  5. I knew then this is how
    the rest of my journey
    would be written, by
    playing hopscotch in
    constellation tales and
    making ribbon curls out
    of sunshine beams.

    Lovely images throughout.

  6. The opening is a delight. I was wondering, could this get any better than that? Then I came across these lines:

    playing hopscotch in
    constellation tales and
    making ribbon curls out
    of sunshine beams…

    and it did.

    I, too, had to look up the title. Glad I did, because it adds depth to the poem.

  7. Enticingly beautiful. Love the way it starts…..”I unbuttoned time/ exposing the bare truth,/ watching its skin raise/ with chills so that my/ fingers could read the/ braille history of all things.” lovely imagery that “braille history”!! midway the concept is clear “to flow spontaneously.” Indeed such poetry…. “Since then I became/ ageless, sipping through/ the silly straw of my/
    amaranthine.” Very enjoyable indeed!!!

Leave a Reply

