I Am

The incense exhaled its words
and they began to gather in
my gravity.

Pooled into a liturgical cloud,
I read them up and down,
inhaling their fragrant story.

I tasted with a thousand tongues,
letting all languages rest on
my palette.

The vowels swirled into a
consonant film, coating my
throat in the names of our
emanate.

Syllables then turned into
symbols and carved our
history on my heart’s wall.

Long separated by churches
and states, I began to hear
our unison call.

I stood within the babel
and uncoded the hidden
tetra.

yhwh, I Am
yhwh, is we
yhwh, I Am
yhwh, is free
yhwh, I Am
yhwh, now see
yhwh, I Am
yhwh, let be

Eyes dotted with the truth,
I crossed over and lived
at the end of breath.

A linguist of the heart,
spilling poetry from my
chest.

The term tetragrammaton (from Greek τετραγράμματον, meaning “four letters”) refers to the Hebrewtheonym (Hebrew: יהוה) transliterated to the Latin letters YHWH. It is derived from a verb that means “to be”, often pronounced “YAWEH”

I was unable to post this weekend, but was happily inspired by the Poetics topic of “Language” with my friends at dVerse Poets Pub. This is my contribution to today’s Open Link Night.  Please link up and show your support for this great group of people, you are sure to receive it back in kind.

11 thoughts on “I Am”

  1. I tasted with a thousand tongues,
    letting all languages rest on
    my palette…love that…and stood with in the babel and decoded….sad truth as well seperated byt he churches….your word play is wicked as ever…smiles….

  2. strong write Rose. I wrote a piece a long time ago about the tetragrammaton. I was fascinated when I read about it and the symbolic significance it held for many of the secret societies that came about in earlier days. Love how you incorporated it in here and the stanza with babel, so nicely stated. Another excellent offering thanks for sharing with us. Always the pleasure to read your work.

  3. Syllables then turned into
    symbols and carved our
    history on my heart’s wall

    Fred is so right, this really is a pleasure to read.
    A great concept but hard to deliver on because of its scale
    but you do it good, especially in the final section

    Eyes dotted with the truth,
    I crossed over and lived
    at the end of breath.

    A linguist of the heart,
    spilling poetry from my
    chest.

    with this
    you really
    capture the idea

    cheers C

Leave a Reply

