Epexegesis

I looked in my image,
at all the wanton pictures
drawn by my mind on these
walls.

I forgave myself for creating
this mural of supposedlies
and watched it streak away
in a tearfall.

The colored lines browned into
reins that I took in my palms
to harness the elements.

Firing the air and funneling
earth across water, I added
my ethereal and became the
fifth relevance.

Illuminated into the expanse
of my oneness with all things, I
charged towards the hands of
time and rode them side saddle,
pluming my wings.

Now coated by love, signed in
henna melanoid, my fluid symbol
veil changes with the prompt of
a breeze.

Grown into four tongues I speak
in every direction, adding epexegesis
to the teachings of once was.

epexegesis [ep-ek-si-jee-sis] noun
1.the addition of a word or words to explain a preceding word or sentence.
2.the word or words so added.

Contributed to Open Link Night with dVerse Poets Pub. Please link up and show your support for this great group of people, you are sure to receive it back in kind.

7 thoughts on “Epexegesis”

  1. Illuminated into the expanse
    of my oneness with all things, I
    charged towards the hands of
    time and rode them side saddle,

    nice…its a cool realization….by then the fanciful as well…the four tongues as well adds a rather mystical element to it as well….

Leave a Reply

