Were it

were it that I could
feel you kiss my skin
warm as a full sun day

were it that I could
count your heartbeats
as I drift awake away

were it that I could

were it that I could
lay in your eyes and
make love angels at night

were it that I could
rub my wrongs against
you until polished right

were it that I could

were it that I could
sit across from you and
read the story of your life

were it that I could
be your present and
gaze back my replies

were it that I could

were it that I could
say the words to you
that I sketch in charcoal

were it that I could
have the chance to compare
your smile against the star’s sparkle

were it that I could

were it that I could
keeps my bated breath
inspiring me with hope

were it that I could
will lead me to the side
of love I am to know

were it that I could

were it that I could

were it that I could

12 thoughts on “Were it”

  1. were it that I could
    rub my wrongs against
    you until polished right…love that…and the listening to the story of life as well…very evocative…really lovely poem…and connection…smiles.

  2. Two wrongs could actually make a right here … Very good writing. Sensual yes, but not cheap, a classy reflection of a moment. And this piece sings!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love it. And the form is excellente! You never dissappoint.

Leave a Reply

