First

veil

I met you for the first time that day

even though I had a hundred conversations
with you before

it was the first time I had seen you that way

where my cheeks felt flush
where my flesh felt warm
where my heart began to race

I met you for the first time that day

even though my eyes had rolled over
you a hundred times before

it was the first time I had seen you that way

where my thoughts erased
where my moments threaded
where my dreams became

I met you for the first time that day

even though I had dissected your
path each day before

it was the first time I had seen you that way

where my walk lept into dance
where my chance turned into choice
where my material broke into change

I met you in the reflective glass that day

and together we walked
through the door

Contributed to Open Link Night with dVerse Poets Pub. Please link up and show your support for this great group of people, you are sure to receive it back in kind.

14 thoughts on “First”

  1. I thought I knew where it was heading, but not for sure. This is a daily thing for me, but I won’t explain 🙂 Very smooth believable, unforced lines. I really enjoy your voice, very calming and sure. I trust my self with your words. And so few I do that with.

  2. I really like this:
    “even though my eyes had rolled over
    you a hundred times before”

    This would make a great song.

  3. I liked this one a lot; it was simple, relateable, sweet, and well-written. I agree– as I was reading it, I found myself thinking that it would make an excellent song. You make good use of the repeated lines; it gives the poem a well-worn familiarity and, also, a sort of marveling tone– like the speaker is playing the scene over and over in her head, surprised that she was so lucky

  4. This is incredibly beautiful writing. Oh yes. many of us have gone through this experience which is an amazing one, but how many have penned it? Precious few indeed. The whole structure is unique as well. Each 3 line stanza follows a simple line and presents a wonderful imagery that each reader, I am sure, experiences in his/her unique way. Therefor I consider this one as one of your best poem!!! I shall always treasure it.

Leave a Reply

