The Walker

Beaten journey, the last of my own
trailed from head to neck in
droplets released by sol.

Eyes hit the ground running
and I saw clearly the steps
of those taken before.

I pressed weightless heart into
the shapes of their prints and
became the others that are
a part of me.

Step I am
the walking lonely

Step I free
the burdened souls

Step I am
the walking loney

Step I lead
the journey home

Quickening pace, I dizzied
the turning sands of time

Steps hit cracks and I
broke through the back-
doors of those left behind

Hands reaching out, I
answered I am you and
we are me.

Step I am
the walking lonely

Step I free
the burdened souls

Step I am
the walking loney

Step I lead
the journey home

I am the walker

I give my found steps
in place of lost feet

I am the walker

Erasing the debts of others
as my journey is free

I am the walker

I love to walk the city, often I drag my brother around with me on what I call “Urban Hikes”. We recently tackled a great challenge, walking 11 miles on a good incline from the river in our fair city to the mountain’s edge. On this journey I had a full heart and empty mind, absolutely no burdens. It was grace and I was grateful. As I marched up the hill on the way to the mountain I watched my feet move up the sidewalk and began to think of the many others that had told their story to the sidewalk before me. This poem is the result of such an inspiring day. Thank you my brother for always being so accommodating to walk these journeys under the sun with me, my love to you always.

It only takes a moment to offer love for another’s release and in doing so we release ourselves ~ Rose 

Contributed to Open Link Night with dVerse Poets Pub. Please link up and show your support for this great group of people, you are sure to receive it back in kind.

20130615_093701

6 thoughts on “The Walker”

  1. nice…like your quote you end on…offering the release of others…and in doing so release ourselves….its forgiveness…interesting trip in your verse….i like the refrain…

    Steps hit cracks and I
    broke through the back-
    doors of those left behind…is fun word play…

    erasing the debts of others so my journey is free…great message…

  2. Wow, this is one of the coolest poems I’ve read in awhile… and I can totally relate. Walking is one of my passions in life. I prefer my feet over a car any day!

    I really enjoyed the repeating of
    “Step I am the walking lonely
    Step I free the burdened souls
    Step I am the walking loney”

    Great write!

  3. Thanks for sharing this piece and its backstory. It has a walking rhythm to me; the way you’ve broken some of the lines makes me think of the in and out of breath as you climb a hill, and the repetition reflects the natural repetitiveness of a hiker’s steps. Nice.

Leave a Reply

