Places

I sneezed in religion and
no one said “God bless you”.

I cast my voice while sailing
politics and couldn’t afford to
live the breeze.

I turned my relationships to
the cold side when my head
would get too warm.

I wasn’t sewn to material, so I was ahead of the game.
I wasn’t love with myself so I hadn’t yet begun to play.

I was in places before the faces began to shine through.
I made spaces between the traces that connect me to truth.
I was in places before the faces began to shine through.

Bark eyes open as cloud lips
silently whisper “God bless you”.

I cast my voice while sailing
poetry and draw ink from the breeze.

I turn my relationships into
present and carry them in my
heart to keep warm.

I co-create the material I sew and wear it as the robe of our same.
I am love with you and dance in the song gratitude plays.

I am in places where the faces speak and shine through.
Love fills the spaces between the traces that connect me to truth.
I am in places where the faces speak and shine through.

Contributed to Open Link Night with dVerse Poets Pub. Please link up and show your support for this great group of people celebrating the first link entering year three! Congrats to the pub for the ongoing success of the joint, I am grateful to be part of the community you have created. ~ Rose

3 thoughts on “Places”

  1. dance that song of gratitude in your robe…smiles..the first couple stanzas on politics and religeon, ha they are hooks…i like…the whole i was in places stanza is really tightly rhymed too…nice rose…

  2. That refrain is haunting, Rose. The rhymes giving it a lilt and memory. And coming back around to “God Bless You” coming not from humanity, but from nature. Loved this! ~ j

Leave a Reply

